Raw Vanilla-Cinnamon Cashew Milk

20121101-214046.jpg

I’m far from being vegan, but my desire to drink cows milk is next to non-existent these days. I still enjoy cheese and butter, but I prefer my milk to come from a nut. I usually buy almond milk from the store to eat in cereal, or mix with my smoothies. And although I’ve often thought about making my own, I’d never gotten around to it, thinking it would be difficult, or costly to do.

The other day, after making my first batch of Vegan Oat Bran Milk, I decided I would try making a milk with my favorite nuts, cashews. After looking at a few recipes to determine the correct cashew to water ratio, I developed a really delicious recipe that even my milk loving nephews loved!

Raw Vanilla Cinnamon Cashew Milk
1 cup raw cashews
3 cups filtered water
1tbsp vanilla extract
1teaspoon cinnamon powder
4-7 pitted dates

Soak cashews overnight in water, drain and rinse. Add cashews and 2 cups filtered water to blender and pulse until smooth. Add vanilla, cinnamon, dates and remaining water to taste. Blend until smooth and creamy. Strain if desired, chill and serve.

Enjoy!

4 responses to “Raw Vanilla-Cinnamon Cashew Milk

  1. So glad you made this work for you and I know you’ll enjoy the change from dairy 😉

  2. Pingback: Vegan Eggnog « Allergy Bites

  3. Pingback: 開心果的3個健康功效 | 众溰梦 的分享空間

  4. Pingback: The 12 Days of Yule – Day 10 – Sweet Cashew Cream « Poli's Kitchen

Leave a Reply

